At this rate, people will be sick of my deluge of posts. Hoorah. XD
Recently I attended this seminar about the Internet and its relation to marketing. And while I looked like I was too busy pounding on my rival clans in my Final Fantasy Tactics A2 game, I did listen to the speakers. Or at the very least, I tried to. Sometimes being an OrCom student has made you so critical, after noticing something was off (pronunciation, voice modulation, choice of words, spelling, yadda yadda) you would be tempted stop paying attention altogether. Not a good thing all the time. I guess this was one of those episodes.
Anyways, the second speaker was a kind of ‘online celebrity’ whose topic was about promoting oneself online. Erm, I think it was her topic – that was what I understood. There was something simply off about this woman in the real world, and I cannot find whatever made her appealing for her online followers. I did realize that many speakers often end up promoting their organizations (subtly or blatantly, depending on skill), but since she was promoting herself and with the manner how she did it failed to make a favorable impression to me. For the duration of her talk about the Internet and the qualities to become famous online, the only thing that stuck to my mind was her admission that she was self-centered. The only thing I could say is that she should remain in the vast, anonymous halls of the Internet, because apparently, some people are more appealing online.
Which leads me to this: Online success in PR does not equate to real world success. One could be an online celebrity and in real life a social pariah. It might sound appealing and fun online, but in reality it might not be the case. There’s a reason why ‘online’ and ‘reality’ are almost antonyms.
High-res photos, hit counts and a thousand ‘likes’ are nice, but unless we could see that online message of yours translated into action, it doesn’t do anything other than to publicize (unless, of course, that’s the whole end goal). Maybe that’s the main point of an online campaign, but the success of the whole project should never be solely based on online results. I think there’s a lot of organizations which rely too much on Facebook and websites and leave their PR campaigns at that. It’s easy to stir the hype, but hype isn’t synonymous to action. Moreover, here in the Philippines internet access is still pretty limited, therefore the Internet audience is restricted to those who could afford the connection. It’s very easy to appreciate a cool idea or product and show that appreciation online – but how about it real life? Will you buy that product or follow that celebrity’s concerts? Will they attend that event? Sure, online PR is there to make your organization look good in the eyes of the stakeholders, but no matter how magnificent your organization or product is online, if you fail to recreate the same in real life, it fails like an OTL. In other words, substantiate the online display. The real life effects are more important than the thousands of YouTube views and Twitter followers.
